Olivier Awards|My favourite Actor

Last night was the Olivier awards. And I am so excited and grateful to say that I was able to see the record-breaking show ‘Harry Potter and the Cursed Child’ last October and again 2 weeks ago, who won a grand total of 9 Olivier awards for:

  1. Best New Play – Harry Potter and the Cursed Child
  2. Best Actor in a play – Jamie Parker (Harry Potter)
  3. Best Actor in a supporting role – Anthony Boyle (Scorpius Malfoy)
  4. Best Actress in a supporting role – Noma Dumezweni (Hermione Granger)
  5. Best Director – John Tiffany
  6. Best Lighting Design – Neil Austin
  7. Best Costume Design – Katrina Lindsay
  8. Best Sound Design – Gareth Fry
  9. Best Set Design – Christine Jones

As well as being nominated for 2 others! That it’s quite something.

As some of you many know, my biggest ambition is to go on to work in the industry. Whether in performing or back stage work, I know it’s what I want to do. i have wanted to become an actress for most of my life and am lucky enough to be studying at a theatre school where I am surrounded by people with similar goals. So I am always super excited for the Olivier awards as I am able to see who to look out for and what the best plays and musicals are to watch. Harry Potter and the Cursed Child is forever going to be the best piece of theatre I have ever seen.

As a HUGE Harry Potter fan, whenever I mention how great the play was the usual response I get is something along the lines of ‘Well of course you would enjoy it’ but I speak from the bottom of my heart when I say I was blown away by the talent and the magic of the show. As an actress in the making, throughout any play I love to really watch each actor/actress to just learn as much as I can. And when I went back in October I was just completely taken in by Anthony Boyle. The character he portrays, Scorpius Malfoy, is so unique and I was immediately drawn to him. After seeing part 1 I immediately looked into other works done by Anthony Boyle to discover just how much he has achieved so early on in his career. After seeing one performance with him in I already knew he was going to become something big, and a new favourite actor was put into place. Congratulations to him for this unbelievable award!

The cast changes for the Cursed Child really soon, which is something that’s making me super excited but also deeply sad as this play has really shown me what I want to do with my life. I am going to really try to watch out for all the amazing people who worked on this show, lots being my new favourites: Anthony Boyle, Sam Clemmett, Noma Dumezweni, Cherrelle Skeete and many more!

Nobody of any note is likely to see this but Well Done to The Cursed Child. I feel so lucky to be a fan.

Leave a Reply

