Harry Potter Cake!

I can FINALLY post this! Let’s get baking for the big day! Not long now…I got this idea of an old IISuperwomanII video where she makes a harry potter book cake. Here is a link to her video. But I decided to make the cake rather than use a pre-made mixture, because it just tastes better

So you will need:

6 oz Butter                                                                                                                                                           6 oz Caster Sugar                                                                                                                                             6oz Self-Raising Flour                                                                                                                                         3 Large Eggs                                                                                                                                                         1 Tablespoon of Milk                                                                                                                                  Any flavouring

IMG_9729

I did that but I would recommend to double the recipe as my cake was quite thin.

Firstly you must melt the butter for around 15 seconds until its soft enough to mix. You can use either a wooden spoon or an electric whisk. Due to breaking my wrist a couple of years back I still can’t use it to much and to turn on my electric whisk you have to push it forward but I’m not strong enough so i have to use 2 hands. It may sound stupid but I just couldn’t use it so I did it all with a wooden spoon. This may even be the reason that my cake was so flat…  (You can add in the milk whenever you want, I do it if my mixture seems floury.)

Then Mix in the butter with the caster sugar until creamy. Then using around 3-4 tablespoons of flour and one egg add them in then mix. Then repeat until all your flour has gone. Then you may add any flavouring you may. Vanilla or Coffee are my favs.

IMG_9740Then spoon this mixture into a baking tray and bake on 150 degrees for around 30 mins but checking with a skewer every 10 or so mins.

IMG_9750

You can see here how thin the cake was. I was going to make another one but we didn’t have the ingredients.

IMG_9753

I then carved the middle out slightly to create an open book effect. I ate the bits in the middle but using a bit of icing you could roll the bits into a ball and cover in icing so that you can eat the decorations rather than just having lumps of icing!

I didn’t manage to get pictures of this next step but its not hard to imagine. I made a plain buttercream icing, following the recipe off Youtube. Here is a link to the video I followed. I then covered the whole cake in the icing. I then rolled out some fondant icing and added some yellow food colouring in to it to make an old book sort of effect.

IMG_9754

So I began to make my decorations. I just made it up as I went along, so if you have any better Idea’s please comment them below. I rolled some fondant into a ball and added to long flat wing like shapes to either side. I did this by piercing some spaghetti through it to hold them up and attach them to either sides. I then sprayed the whole thing with golden edible spray. IMG_9765

For the glasses I simply rolled out a long strip of black fondant and shaped two identical circles and attached them with a really short strip. I then added a line from one corner of the circles and folded it across.

IMG_9767

So initially this was meant to be Harry Potter’s wand but when my parents saw it they said “How clever to use a flake for a broom”. So it can be which ever one you want. I think wand. I rolled another piece of black fondant at placed a piece of spaghetti through the end and pushed the rest for it into a bit of a flake.

IMG_9768

For the scarf I simply cut rectangles of red and yellow and placed them in order on top of a bit  of white fondant that I had cut to the shape i wanted the scarf. And on one end i made a rectangle double the size and put slits in half of it to make the end of the scarf. The other end I just tucked under the book to make it look like the book had been placed on top of the rest of the scarf.

I also sprayed the gold on long pieces of white fondant which i rolled flat to make the rim of the book. And also wrapped to long pieces of my my book colour to make a book mark down the middle. I then used a tube of black icing to write spells on to my spell book. I wrote:

  • Expelliamus
  • Riddikulus
  • Protego
  • Confundus
  • Wingarium Leviosa

IMG_9763

This is the final piece. And I am no cake maker or decorated. I have never had a food tech or art class. So it no master piece but it is a very tasty cake.

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Harry Potter Cake!

Leave a Reply

